North Carolina Area Codes, United States

Find the real owner of someone with a 252, 336, 704 and 743, 828, 910, 919, 980 and 984 North Carolina area codes

North Carolina area code

North Carolina was the twelfth state to join the Union in 1789. Its 11 million residents have phone numbers with different North Carolina area codes. These area codes help identify the phone number owner’s city or town on the North Carolina phone numbers database

North Carolina numbers used to be an alphanumeric combination of two letters and five numbers per the 2L-5N format. The two letters tell the caller the switchboard to dial, and the operator would need a five-digit number to connect you to the call recipient.

But the alphanumeric combination could not keep up with the demand for new phone numbers. So, the 7-digit system replaced the alphanumeric phone number. The first three digits replaced the two letters, and phone number owners had four easy-to-remember digits.

Likewise, this 7-digit system was soon phased into a 10-digit numbering plan because there were more subscribers than available numbers. By adding area codes, the telephone industry expanded the available pool of numbers. More importantly, area codes made it easier to identify geographic areas.  

Take your typical ten-digit Charlotte phone number, 704-NYY-XXXX, and think of it as a physical house address.

704 is the area code. In a house address, this would be your county of residence – in this case, Charlotte. The following three-digit number, NYY, is the prefix code. In a house address, this would be your town or street within Charlotte.

The last four digits, XXXX, is the unique line number. In a house address, this would be your house number, flat number, or room number.

North Carolina started with one area code in 1947 – the 704, which was enough to cover phone owners at the time. However, as the state’s population increased, North Carolina now uses 9 area codes. 

Besides connecting you with the person you wish to call, North Carolina area codes also reveal unknown callers’ locations. But you will need a phone number search to get specific information about the caller’s address and public records on the North Carolina phone numbers database.  

Several persons can have the same area code if they live in the same area. In the same way, several persons can have the same prefix code if they are neighbors. However, line numbers are unique. No two persons can have the same line number, but one person or business can have several line numbers.

CountyFIPS codeCounty seatEstablishedPopulationArea
Alamance County001Graham1849171,415435 sq mi
Alexander County003Taylorsville184736,444263 sq mi
Alleghany County005Sparta185910,888236 sq mi
Anson County007Wadesboro175022,055537 sq mi
Ashe County009Jefferson179926,577427 sq mi
Avery County011Newland191117,806247 sq mi
Beaufort County013Washington171244,652959 sq mi
Bertie County015Windsor172217,934741 sq mi
Bladen County017Elizabethtown173429,606887 sq mi
Brunswick County019Bolivia1764136,693860 sq mi
Buncombe County021Asheville1791269,452660 sq mi
Burke County023Morganton177787,570515 sq mi
Cabarrus County025Concord1762225,804365 sq mi
Caldwell County027Lenoir184180,652474 sq mi
Camden County029Camden177710,355306 sq mi
Carteret County031Beaufort172267,6861,341 sq mi
Caswell County033Yanceyville177722,736428 sq mi
Catawba County035Newton1842160,610414 sq mi
Chatham County037Pittsboro177176,285709 sq mi
Cherokee County039Murphy183928,774497 sq mi
Chowan County041Edenton166813,708233 sq mi
Clay County043Hayesville186111,089221 sq mi
Cleveland County045Shelby184199,519469 sq mi
Columbus County047Whiteville180850,623954 sq mi
Craven County049New Bern1705100,720774 sq mi
Cumberland County051Fayetteville1754334,728658 sq mi
Currituck County053Currituck166828,100526 sq mi
Dare County055Manteo187036,9151,562 sq mi
Davidson County057Lexington1822168,930567 sq mi
Davie County059Mocksville183642,712267 sq mi
Duplin County061Kenansville175048,715819 sq mi
Durham County063Durham1881324,833298 sq mi
Edgecombe County065Tarboro174148,900507 sq mi
Forsyth County067Winston-Salem1849382,590413 sq mi
Franklin County069Louisburg177968,573495 sq mi
Gaston County071Gastonia1846227,943364 sq mi
Gates County073Gatesville177910,478346 sq mi
Graham County075Robbinsville18728,030302 sq mi
Granville County077Oxford174660,992537 sq mi
Greene County079Snow Hill179920,451266 sq mi
Guilford County081Greensboro1771541,299658 sq mi
Halifax County083Halifax175848,622731 sq mi
Harnett County085Lillington1855133,568601 sq mi
Haywood County087Waynesville180862,089555 sq mi
Henderson County089Hendersonville1838116,281375 sq mi
Hertford County091Winton175921,552360 sq mi
Hoke County093Raeford191152,082392 sq mi
Hyde County095Swan Quarter17124,5891,424 sq mi
Iredell County097Statesville1788186,693597 sq mi
Jackson County099Sylva185143,109494 sq mi
Johnston County101Smithfield1746215,999796 sq mi
Jones County103Trenton17799,172473 sq mi
Lee County105Sanford190763,285259 sq mi
Lenoir County107Kinston179155,122402 sq mi
Lincoln County109Lincolnton177986,810307 sq mi
Macon County113Franklin182837,014519 sq mi
Madison County115Marshall185121,193452 sq mi
Martin County117Williamston177422,031461 sq mi
McDowell County111Marion184244,578446 sq mi
Mecklenburg County119Charlotte17621,115,482546 sq mi
Mitchell County121Bakersville186114,903222 sq mi
Montgomery County123Troy177925,751502 sq mi
Moore County125Carthage178499,727706 sq mi
Nash County127Nashville177794,970543 sq mi
New Hanover County129Wilmington1729225,702328 sq mi
Northampton County131Jackson174117,471551 sq mi
Onslow County133Jacksonville1734204,576909 sq mi
Orange County135Hillsborough1752148,696401 sq mi
Pamlico County137Bayboro187212,276566 sq mi
Pasquotank County139Elizabeth City166840,568289 sq mi
Pender County141Burgaw187560,203933 sq mi
Perquimans County143Hertford166813,005329 sq mi
Person County145Roxboro179139,097404 sq mi
Pitt County147Greenville1760170,243655 sq mi
Polk County149Columbus185519,328239 sq mi
Randolph County151Asheboro1779144,171790 sq mi
Richmond County153Rockingham177942,946480 sq mi
Robeson County155Lumberton1787116,530951 sq mi
Rockingham County157Wentworth178591,096572 sq mi
Rowan County159Salisbury1753146,875524 sq mi
Rutherford County161Rutherfordton177964,444566 sq mi
Sampson County163Clinton178459,036947 sq mi
Scotland County165Laurinburg189934,174321 sq mi
Stanly County167Albemarle184162,504404 sq mi
Stokes County169Danbury178944,520456 sq mi
Surry County171Dobson177171,359538 sq mi
Swain County173Bryson City187114,117541 sq mi
Transylvania County175Brevard186132,986381 sq mi
Tyrrell County177Columbia17293,245600 sq mi
Union County179Monroe1842238,267640 sq mi
Vance County181Henderson188142,578270 sq mi
Wake County183Raleigh17711,129,410857 sq mi
Warren County185Warrenton177918,642444 sq mi
Washington County187Plymouth179911,003424 sq mi
Watauga County189Boone184954,086313 sq mi
Wayne County191Goldsboro1779117,333557 sq mi
Wilkes County193Wilkesboro177765,969760 sq mi
Wilson County195Wilson185578,784374 sq mi
Yadkin County197Yadkinville185037,214337 sq mi
Yancey County199Burnsville183318,470313 sq mi